In the spirit of truth and equity, it is with gratitude and humility that we pay tribute to the Mohegan Tribe, the original stewards of the land where the City of Norwich now stands. Norwich can trace its origins to the year 1659, when Chief Uncas gave a gift of 9 miles square of his native homeland to the immigrant people surrounding him. The Norwich Historical Society recognizes the town’s debt to that landmark event of centuries ago and acknowledges the encroachments which resulted in the eventual dispossession of the Tribe’s land. The descendants of Uncas continue to live and work beside us in the present and will be among us in the generations that follow. We now work toward greater awareness of the inequities of history, most especially the destruction of the Tribe’s burying grounds which resulted in the establishment of a memorial grove dedicated in 2008. As we move forward to the future, let us not forget the past so that we can build an inclusive and equitable location for all those who come to occupy what was once solely Native land.
Partnering with notable scholars, our free, virtual, four-part lecture series will cover a myriad of topics related to Norwich’s rich history. Lecture topics include Benedict Arnold, Eighteenth Century Black Kings and Governors in Connecticut, Emma Baker, a Mohegan Leader in the Victorian era, and Social Life and Servants in America, 1865-1914. Visit our events calendar for more information.
From April to August, the Norwich Historical Society hosts free walking tours of Norwich on the second Saturday of the month. These walking tours encompass a wide variety of themes in Norwich’s history from the 17th century and ending in the 20th century.
The Norwich Historical Society hosts an Annual Meeting, which includes a brief business meeting and report, followed by a program open to the public.
The City of Norwich is proud to be a member of the Last Green Valley. The Last Green Valley is a National Heritage Corridor comprised of 35 towns in Eastern Connecticut and Southern Massachusetts.
The Walk Norwich Trails are a series of historically themed walking trails designed to educate residents and visitors about the rich history of Norwich by providing people with an interactive walking self-guided trail complete with trail marker signs, interpretive signs, and self-guided brochures.
The Norwich Historical Society is excited to share our virtual experiences with you! The NHS strives to create activities that celebrate local history and promote a greater understanding of Norwich’s diverse past.
Connecticut Open House Day, now in its 17th year, is an annual event held on the second Saturday of June. The purpose of this event is to inspire Connecticut residents to learn about all the experiences in their own backyard, anticipating that this will convert them into ambassadors who will recommend these experiences to other visitors. The state heavily promotes this event and typically enjoys significant press coverage each year.
After being closed for 14 months, the Norwich Heritage & Regional Visitors’ Center will reopen for CT Open House Day! Our hours will be 11am-3pm and admission is free. Come check out our Discover Norwich exhibit, play with reproduction colonial toys, and grab some Walk Norwich Trail brochures.
Also, be sure to stop by and visit the c.1772 Joseph Carpenter Silversmith Shop located directly next door to the Visitors’ Center. In honor of CT Open House Day, for the first time in years, the Carpenter Shop will be open to the public.
This new museum will present the early history of the settlement of Norwich which centered around the Norwichtown Green, highlight the tradesmen who lived and worked around the Green as well as the original chimney forge used by the Norwich silversmith Joseph Carpenter in 1772! Come check out both buildings on CT Open House Day!
Please note the following safety protocols in place:
1. Face masks are required to enter the Visitors’ Center. Children under the age of two are not required to wear a mask.
2. Hand sanitizer is available at the front desk. Please use this upon entering.
3. Please practice social distancing and remain 6 feet apart while in the Visitors’ Center.
4. We are asking visitors to voluntarily provide contact information in case of COVID-19 exposure. Please sign in at the front desk.
Thank you for your patience and understanding.
The Norwich Heritage and Regional Visitors’ Center is located in the 1783 Dr. Daniel Lathrop Schoolhouse on the historic Norwichtown Green. Our mission is to inform residents and visitors about places of interest in the region and about Norwich’s rich heritage through exhibits, presentations and activities. The Center serves as a gateway into the City of Norwich where visitors can learn about our numerous cultural sites and various local businesses. Walk Norwich self-guided trail brochures are also available at the Center.On permanent display in the Center is the “Discover Norwich”exhibit, which is a 10-panel exhibit encompassing themes in Norwich’s history from the 17th to the 20th century. The panels have interpretive text in addition to historical images and maps of the specific eras. The “Discover Norwich” exhibit gives visitors and locals an overview of Norwich’s rich history.
Address: 69 East Town Street (Norwichtown) Norwich, CT 06360
Hours: Formal 2021 opening date and hours to be determined
Parking: Along the Norwichtown Green